Conquer Club

XML Modifications and Variations

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Postby lackattack on Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:02 pm

yeti_c wrote:If you want required components - you simply define them in the continent underneath... that's the beauty of nesting them...

The <required> only works on the current level.

So Your example would be

Code: Select all
<continent>
  <name>Maghreb</name>
  <bonus>5</bonus>
  <components>
    <continent>territories</continent>
    <continent>continents</continent>
  </component>
</continent>

<continent>
  <name>territories</name>
  <bonus>0</bonus>
  <components>
    <territory>Algiers</territory>
    <territory>Tunisia</territory>
    <territory>Algeria</territory>
  </components>
  <required>2</required>
</continent>

<continent>
  <name>continents</name>
  <bonus>0</bonus>
  <components>
    <continent>subContinent A</continent>
    <continent>subContinent B</continent>
  </components>
  <required>1</required>
</continent>


OK - techincally you have more XML to write - but this is a fairly extreme case... and could probably be coded better given the full rules...

But the flow of this is much more obvious and I would've thought easier for you to code...

It will be much easier to code for BOB too...

C.


I fixed up your solution a bit: fixed a typo in the 3rd continent which should be called "continents". Also added bonus tags which I think I'd like to keep mandatory (but the engine will ignore bonus=0).

This would allow us to specify different <required> for different parts. But how should the engine handle <required> when there is a mix of components, <territory> and <continent>? I think it should apply to the sum of held territs + held continents.

Could we use objectives with subcontinents? Either way, I'd like to do away with the <component> tag accross the board and objectives would look like this as well:

Code: Select all
<components>
  <territory>Algiers</territory>
  <territory>Tunisia</territory>
  <territory>Algeria</territory>
</components>


Another question, if you are eliminated by a respawning neutral in an assassin game, should the person who has you win or should your target be reassigned? I think the person who has you should win, because it would be impossible for you to commit respawn suicide without help of another player.
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6097
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Postby Herakilla on Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:05 pm

good question lack, what about a terminator game though? make it go to the last player to take a territory them them. this will have some issues in freestyle but thats freestyle
Come join us in Live Chat!
User avatar
Lieutenant Herakilla
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Wandering the world, spreading Conquerism

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 10, 2008 4:12 am

lackattack wrote:Could we use objectives with subcontinents? Either way, I'd like to do away with the <component> tag accross the board and objectives would look like this as well:

Code: Select all
<components>
  <territory>Algiers</territory>
  <territory>Tunisia</territory>
  <territory>Algeria</territory>
</components>




That would be a great idea too... -> Note if you do drop <component> - you will have to do some Find n Replace on all your XML files - not that it's too tricky (use textpad - it'll do all files in a folder)... But I'm sure that you were aware of that!!

In fact - if you didn't drop "component" then the FnR would ruin your objectives anyway!!

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 10, 2008 4:14 am

lackattack wrote:Another question, if you are eliminated by a respawning neutral in an assassin game, should the person who has you win or should your target be reassigned? I think the person who has you should win, because it would be impossible for you to commit respawn suicide without help of another player.


Right - I'm not 100% sure on how these Respawning Neutrals should work...

When do they respawn? End of Round?

Is there a limit for respawning? i.e. they only respawn if the territory is down to 1 army...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby lackattack on Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:15 am

When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6097
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Postby DiM on Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:25 am

lackattack wrote:When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.


wouldn't it be better if the neutrals were respawned whenever somebody clicks begin turn?

i mean let's say it's you me and yeti on aor: magic map with fog. and all the decay terits are also respawning.

i make a run from 1 place to another under the darkness of fog and i get to yeti_c's castle. he still has troops in the vicinity of that castle to attack me but when he presses begin turn all my trail of 1's reverts back to neutrals thus leaving no clues about where i came from. i'd love this. it would make fog much more entertaining. :D
ā€œIn the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.ā€- Michio Kaku
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10415
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:26 am

I think the engine would probably have to change a lot to evaluate other people's territories at the start of your own turn. :(

Otherwise I'd like the option.
Warning: You may be reading a really old topic.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby DiM on Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:28 am

Coleman wrote:I think the engine would probably have to change a lot to evaluate other people's territories at the start of your own turn. :(


i have no idea how the engine works. i'm just asking. it would be fun.

Coleman wrote:Otherwise I'd like the option.


glad you like it.
i hope lack likes it too
and i also hope the engine can deal with it.
ā€œIn the beginning God said, the four-dimensional divergence of an antisymmetric, second rank tensor equals zero, and there was light, and it was good. And on the seventh day he rested.ā€- Michio Kaku
User avatar
Major DiM
 
Posts: 10415
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:20 pm
Location: making maps for scooby snacks

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:29 am

could there be an option that

when you have a continent
the bonus is autodeployed to a certain territory
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:15 pm

DiM wrote:
lackattack wrote:When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.


wouldn't it be better if the neutrals were respawned whenever somebody clicks begin turn?

i mean let's say it's you me and yeti on aor: magic map with fog. and all the decay terits are also respawning.

i make a run from 1 place to another under the darkness of fog and i get to yeti_c's castle. he still has troops in the vicinity of that castle to attack me but when he presses begin turn all my trail of 1's reverts back to neutrals thus leaving no clues about where i came from. i'd love this. it would make fog much more entertaining. :D


The only problem with this - is Freestyle...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Night Strike on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:15 pm

lackattack wrote:When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.


Wait a second. When I first read "respawning neutrals", I thought it meant that a neutral territory would go back to its starting value if it hadn't been conquered (i.e. The neutral armies had decreased through attack/decay but had not been taken down to 0). I didn't think it would turn conquered territories to neutral. :?
Image
User avatar
Major Night Strike
 
Posts: 8512
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:52 pm

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:15 pm

Lone.prophet wrote:could there be an option that

when you have a continent
the bonus is autodeployed to a certain territory


Already asked for - and a Maybe on the list.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:22 pm

Night Strike wrote:
lackattack wrote:When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.


Wait a second. When I first read "respawning neutrals", I thought it meant that a neutral territory would go back to its starting value if it hadn't been conquered (i.e. The neutral armies had decreased through attack/decay but had not been taken down to 0). I didn't think it would turn conquered territories to neutral. :?
The way WidowMakers wanted it was that it would reset to it's neutral every turn regardless of what had happened. This is to simulate a trap or an otherwise very nasty territory you shouldn't leave any armies on but may need to move through.
Warning: You may be reading a really old topic.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby MrBenn on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:24 pm

If you hold territory x, autodeploy deploys n troops to territory x.
If I wanted a player to hold territory x+y for an autodeploy to terr x, is that possible now, or is that the amendment that is coming?

(just an idea for a map that is currently in my head...)
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Postby MrBenn on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:26 pm

And I'd been wondering if you could code some sort of limit for autodeploy, so that you don't get the autodeploy troops if you have >n armies there already?

I've also been thinking about some sort of auto-redistribute, using a -1 decay with a +1 autodeploy elsewhere. Not too sure how it would work, but I've been contemplating it...
User avatar
Lieutenant MrBenn
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:32 am
Location: Off Duty

Postby Lone.prophet on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:27 pm

^^ thats what i have been asking so much and noone answers me :)
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:28 pm

Lone.prophet wrote:^^ thats what i have been asking so much and noone answers me :)


Read my post.

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Night Strike on Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:31 pm

Coleman wrote:
Night Strike wrote:
lackattack wrote:When you click begin turn, it sets any respawning neutrals that you hold back to their neutral value.


Wait a second. When I first read "respawning neutrals", I thought it meant that a neutral territory would go back to its starting value if it hadn't been conquered (i.e. The neutral armies had decreased through attack/decay but had not been taken down to 0). I didn't think it would turn conquered territories to neutral. :?
The way WidowMakers wanted it was that it would reset to it's neutral every turn regardless of what had happened. This is to simulate a trap or an otherwise very nasty territory you shouldn't leave any armies on but may need to move through.


Oh. I think I like my idea better, but at least you explained WidowMakers' well. There will have to be some detailed instructions on that because I bet a lot of people would read "respawning neutrals" the same way I did.
Image
User avatar
Major Night Strike
 
Posts: 8512
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:52 pm

Postby rebelman on Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:18 pm

Coleman wrote:I haven't discussed this with Andy yet, but would anyone be mad if I went through this topic and deleted everything that wasn't an xml suggestion?

I'd also delete repeat suggestions.

Or maybe I could copy them into a new topic and lock this one?

It's a lot to go through with all our random chatter mixed in.


this should be done as soon as you get a chance (although instead of deleteing leave the posts on this thread so this becomes a discussion one but put the actual suggestions on another locked thread that only you and the other staff edit with ideas from this thread and their status.
Don't now why people on here don't like being cooks, remember under siege: A former SEAL, now cook, is the only person who can stop a gang of terrorists when they sieze control of a US Navy battleship.
User avatar
Private rebelman
 
Posts: 2968
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: People's Republic of Cork

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:19 pm

rebelman wrote:
Coleman wrote:I haven't discussed this with Andy yet, but would anyone be mad if I went through this topic and deleted everything that wasn't an xml suggestion?

I'd also delete repeat suggestions.

Or maybe I could copy them into a new topic and lock this one?

It's a lot to go through with all our random chatter mixed in.


this should be done as soon as you get a chance (although instead of deleteing leave the posts on this thread so this becomes a discussion one but put the actual suggestions on another locked thread that only you and the other staff edit with ideas from this thread and their status.
What ended up happening is I copied out the suggestion posts and made a condensed topic backstage.

After this xml update I could release this one and move something similar to that post out here with the ones we still don't have.
Warning: You may be reading a really old topic.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Herakilla on Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:37 pm

dont make respawning neutrals at beginning, make it so it happens when the player hits end fortification, all his territories that would respawn then respawn. this allows some coolness to freestyle since you can "track" a player down by following him fast enough but if you are too slow the tracks left by his army go away!
Come join us in Live Chat!
User avatar
Lieutenant Herakilla
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Wandering the world, spreading Conquerism

Postby Herakilla on Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:56 am

Herakilla wrote:dont make respawning neutrals at beginning, make it so it happens when the player hits end fortification, all his territories that would respawn then respawn. this allows some coolness to freestyle since you can "track" a player down by following him fast enough but if you are too slow the tracks left by his army go away!


any thoughts?
Come join us in Live Chat!
User avatar
Lieutenant Herakilla
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:33 pm
Location: Wandering the world, spreading Conquerism

Postby WidowMakers on Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:50 am

Herakilla wrote:
Herakilla wrote:dont make respawning neutrals at beginning, make it so it happens when the player hits end fortification, all his territories that would respawn then respawn. this allows some coolness to freestyle since you can "track" a player down by following him fast enough but if you are too slow the tracks left by his army go away!


any thoughts?
I just read this suggestion. I need respawning neutrals for the next two levels of the Dungeon of Draknor maps. I at first did not like your idea but it makes more sense to have it thi sway. For the exact reasons you explained.

Respawning neutrals should occur at the end of your turn instead of the beginning of the next. or maybe there is an way to allow it to be chosen an a map by map basis.

respawn beginning of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = begin>5</neutral respawn>

respawn end of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = end>5</neutral respawn>



WM
Image
Major WidowMakers
 
Posts: 2774
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Postby yeti_c on Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:10 am

WidowMakers wrote:
Herakilla wrote:
Herakilla wrote:dont make respawning neutrals at beginning, make it so it happens when the player hits end fortification, all his territories that would respawn then respawn. this allows some coolness to freestyle since you can "track" a player down by following him fast enough but if you are too slow the tracks left by his army go away!


any thoughts?
I just read this suggestion. I need respawning neutrals for the next two levels of the Dungeon of Draknor maps. I at first did not like your idea but it makes more sense to have it thi sway. For the exact reasons you explained.

Respawning neutrals should occur at the end of your turn instead of the beginning of the next. or maybe there is an way to allow it to be chosen an a map by map basis.

respawn beginning of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = begin>5</neutral respawn>

respawn end of turn
Code: Select all
<neutral respawn = end>5</neutral respawn>



WM


That's an intersting idea...

One query - if it's beginning of turn - is it before or after you calculate the territories held?

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby lackattack on Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:42 am

As Night Strike mentioned, "respawning" can be ambiguous, so instead how about calling them "killer" neutrals?

Code: Select all
<neutral killer="yes">4</neutral>


It is easiest to code respawn at the beginning of turn, only for the player in question. To code it for the end of turn I'd have to worry about players running out of time. Let me take a closer look at the code...
User avatar
Sergeant lackattack
 
Posts: 6097
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users