Page 1 of 1
XML overrides question
Posted:
Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:39 am
by Tieryn
I notice in the example given, the override continent comes before the part continent.
Is this order necessary?
Ie, if Oceania overrides Half of Oceania, do I have to define continent oceania first, then half of? or does it not matter?
Posted:
Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:00 am
by BaldAdonis
*Edit* Read that backwards. Hmmm.....
I reckon you do, because that's how all the others are done, and odds are someone would have tried it the other way at least once.
Posted:
Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:27 am
by yeti_c
I don't think it matters to be honest...
C.
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:22 am
by bryguy
yea i really dont think it matters
for example, since i joined, whenever i work on xml i always put the territory names first, but for conqueropoly the xml has the continents first, then the territories
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:17 am
by Coleman
That's funny because that does matter... Territories need to go after continents.
The required order of major tags:
- Code: Select all
<map>
<size etc/>
<minreinforcements/>
<reinforcements/>
<positions/>
<objectives/>
<continents/>
<territories/>
</map>
As far as overrides go, like yeti_c said I don't think it matters, but if it is possible and you are paranoid you should list the continents that are overridden before the ones that override them.
This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:19 am
by yeti_c
Coleman wrote:This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.
QFE
C.
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:36 am
by Lone.prophet
Coleman wrote:That's funny because that does matter... Territories need to go after continents.
The required order of major tags:
- Code: Select all
<map>
<size etc/>
<minreinforcements/>
<reinforcements/>
<positions/>
<objectives/>
<continents/>
<territories/>
</map>
As far as overrides go, like yeti_c said I don't think it matters, but if it is possible and you are paranoid you should list the continents that are overridden before the ones that override them.
This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.
but how to solve that in a circular override?
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:38 am
by Coleman
You can make circular overrides. But if you don't need to then it's probably best for efficiency's sake to put the overridden before the overrider.
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:42 am
by Lone.prophet
it isnt possible to override an opponents bonus if you countrol a country yet right?
Posted:
Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:05 am
by yeti_c
Lone.prophet wrote:it isnt possible to override an opponents bonus if you countrol a country yet right?
No - and I doubt it will be...
C.
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:21 pm
by Tieryn
Bummer, that would be cool. "By holding the Moral High Ground you eliminate your partner's Complaint Bonus"
On another note... When using continents as parts of other continents, does it work like this?
- Code: Select all
<continent>
<name>North America</name>
<bonus>11</bonus>
<components>
<territory>Alaska</territory>
<territory>Greenland</territory>
<territory>Cuba</territory>
<territory>Caribbean</territory>
This bit?
- Code: Select all
<continent>Canada</continent>
<continent>Central America</continent>
<continent>United States</continent>
- Code: Select all
</components>
<overrides>
<override>Canada</override>
<override>Central America</override>
<override>United States</override>
</overrides>
</continent>
Or differently? I think putting a <continent> tag inside a <continent> is going to cause issues, yes? Tho I haven't tested this, and I've checked the tute's but can't find out what the syntax is... Or - do I still have to include each territory individually, and then just override the -BONUS-?[/b]
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:44 pm
by Coleman
That looks right to me.
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:13 pm
by Tieryn
On another note -
Error: Continent North America has component Canada which has not been previously defined as a continent
You need to define a continent before you use it as a sub-set of a larger continent.
Could this concept be added to the XML tutorial? Or is it in another section somewhere?
The bit that deals with overrides in the tutorial doesn't talk about using continents as territories... I don't think at least.. I thought I'd seen it somewhere, but can't find it there now.
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:43 pm
by Coleman
It is in the xml tutorial.
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:12 pm
by fireedud
I didn't see it in the tut. but wouldn't you just define canda as a cont. with a bonus of 0?
Posted:
Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:14 pm
by Coleman
I'll look later I guess, I thought it was. Maybe I can make it more clear. It should be in notes and where continents are discussed.
Posted:
Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:47 am
by yeti_c
fireedud wrote:I didn't see it in the tut. but wouldn't you just define canda as a cont. with a bonus of 0?
Nope - because Canada is has a continent of it's own...
Of course if you look at World 2.1 all of the "collection continents" have "spare territories"
You could groups those into a continent of their own with a bonus of 0...
C.
Posted:
Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:49 pm
by fireedud
oh I get what you're saying.
Anyway, it is in the tut., I thought u meant extra territories for the the entire cont.