Conquer Club

XML overrides question

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

XML overrides question

Postby Tieryn on Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:39 am

I notice in the example given, the override continent comes before the part continent.

Is this order necessary?

Ie, if Oceania overrides Half of Oceania, do I have to define continent oceania first, then half of? or does it not matter?
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Tieryn
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Generation One

Postby BaldAdonis on Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:00 am

*Edit* Read that backwards. Hmmm.....
I reckon you do, because that's how all the others are done, and odds are someone would have tried it the other way at least once.
User avatar
Captain BaldAdonis
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:57 am
Location: Trapped in Pleasantville with Toby McGuire

Postby yeti_c on Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:27 am

I don't think it matters to be honest...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby bryguy on Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:22 am

yea i really dont think it matters

for example, since i joined, whenever i work on xml i always put the territory names first, but for conqueropoly the xml has the continents first, then the territories
Corporal bryguy
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:50 am
Location: Lost in a Jigsaw

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:17 am

That's funny because that does matter... Territories need to go after continents.

The required order of major tags:
Code: Select all
<map>
  <size etc/>
  <minreinforcements/>
  <reinforcements/>
  <positions/>
  <objectives/>
  <continents/>
  <territories/>
</map>


As far as overrides go, like yeti_c said I don't think it matters, but if it is possible and you are paranoid you should list the continents that are overridden before the ones that override them.

This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby yeti_c on Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:19 am

Coleman wrote:This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.


QFE

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:36 am

Coleman wrote:That's funny because that does matter... Territories need to go after continents.

The required order of major tags:
Code: Select all
<map>
  <size etc/>
  <minreinforcements/>
  <reinforcements/>
  <positions/>
  <objectives/>
  <continents/>
  <territories/>
</map>


As far as overrides go, like yeti_c said I don't think it matters, but if it is possible and you are paranoid you should list the continents that are overridden before the ones that override them.

This wasn't asked, but since it is almost related, if you are putting continents inside of continents the subcontinents must come first.


but how to solve that in a circular override?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby Coleman on Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:38 am

You can make circular overrides. But if you don't need to then it's probably best for efficiency's sake to put the overridden before the overrider.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Lone.prophet on Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:42 am

it isnt possible to override an opponents bonus if you countrol a country yet right?
Image
Captain Lone.prophet
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Your basement Muahaha

Postby yeti_c on Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:05 am

Lone.prophet wrote:it isnt possible to override an opponents bonus if you countrol a country yet right?


No - and I doubt it will be...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby Tieryn on Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:21 pm

Bummer, that would be cool. "By holding the Moral High Ground you eliminate your partner's Complaint Bonus"

On another note... When using continents as parts of other continents, does it work like this?

Code: Select all
<continent>
      <name>North America</name>
      <bonus>11</bonus>
      <components>
         <territory>Alaska</territory>
         <territory>Greenland</territory>
         <territory>Cuba</territory>
         <territory>Caribbean</territory>
This bit?
Code: Select all
         <continent>Canada</continent>
         <continent>Central America</continent>
         <continent>United States</continent>
Code: Select all
      </components>
      <overrides>   
         <override>Canada</override>
         <override>Central America</override>
         <override>United States</override>
      </overrides>
   </continent>


Or differently? I think putting a <continent> tag inside a <continent> is going to cause issues, yes? Tho I haven't tested this, and I've checked the tute's but can't find out what the syntax is... Or - do I still have to include each territory individually, and then just override the -BONUS-?[/b]
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Tieryn
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Generation One

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:44 pm

That looks right to me.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby Tieryn on Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:13 pm

On another note -

Error: Continent North America has component Canada which has not been previously defined as a continent

You need to define a continent before you use it as a sub-set of a larger continent.

Could this concept be added to the XML tutorial? Or is it in another section somewhere?

The bit that deals with overrides in the tutorial doesn't talk about using continents as territories... I don't think at least.. I thought I'd seen it somewhere, but can't find it there now.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class Tieryn
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 7:30 am
Location: Generation One

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:43 pm

It is in the xml tutorial. :?
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby fireedud on Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:12 pm

I didn't see it in the tut. but wouldn't you just define canda as a cont. with a bonus of 0?
me have no sig
Cook fireedud
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:06 pm

Postby Coleman on Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:14 pm

I'll look later I guess, I thought it was. Maybe I can make it more clear. It should be in notes and where continents are discussed.
User avatar
Sergeant Coleman
 
Posts: 5402
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:36 pm
Location: Midwest

Postby yeti_c on Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:47 am

fireedud wrote:I didn't see it in the tut. but wouldn't you just define canda as a cont. with a bonus of 0?


Nope - because Canada is has a continent of it's own...

Of course if you look at World 2.1 all of the "collection continents" have "spare territories"

You could groups those into a continent of their own with a bonus of 0...

C.
Image
Highest score : 2297
User avatar
Lieutenant yeti_c
 
Posts: 9624
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:02 am

Postby fireedud on Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:49 pm

oh I get what you're saying.
Anyway, it is in the tut., I thought u meant extra territories for the the entire cont.
me have no sig
Cook fireedud
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:06 pm


Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users