Conquer Club

Do reinforcement divisors have to be integers?

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.

Do reinforcement divisors have to be integers?

Postby chipv on Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:38 pm

Are floating point numbers allowed(not whole numbers e.g. 0.5) ?

I'm trying to work out some reinforcements and can't see how to do some without giving a non-whole number for a divisor
unless I define identical reinforcements.
User avatar
Major chipv
Head Tech
Head Tech
 
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Do reinforcement divisors have to be integers?

Postby ender516 on Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:12 pm

chipv wrote:Are floating point numbers allowed(not whole numbers e.g. 0.5) ?

I'm trying to work out some reinforcements and can't see how to do some without giving a non-whole number for a divisor
unless I define identical reinforcements.

What reinforcement scheme are you trying to implement? Perhaps someone will have a way around that you have not thought of.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario

Re: Do reinforcement divisors have to be integers?

Postby chipv on Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:49 pm

ender516 wrote:
chipv wrote:Are floating point numbers allowed(not whole numbers e.g. 0.5) ?

I'm trying to work out some reinforcements and can't see how to do some without giving a non-whole number for a divisor
unless I define identical reinforcements.

What reinforcement scheme are you trying to implement? Perhaps someone will have a way around that you have not thought of.


It doesn't answer my question, though.

I am just playing with some numbers here - for example how to give +3 troops for every 5 territories held period.

I can think of one way but it's not pretty hence the question.
User avatar
Major chipv
Head Tech
Head Tech
 
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Do reinforcement divisors have to be integers?

Postby thenobodies80 on Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:41 am

chipv wrote:I am just playing with some numbers here - for example how to give +3 troops for every 5 territories held period.


If i have understand exactly what you mean, i think that the easier way is not to think to them as normal reinforcements, but like a sort of "hidden" bonuses/continents.

e.g.
Total Regions: 18

Code: Select all
<continent>
   <name>5 regions</name>
   <bonus>3</bonus>
   <components>
      <territory>region 1</territory>
      <territory>region 2</territory>
      ...
      <territory>region 18</territory>
   </components>
   <required>5</required>
</continent>
<continent>
   <name>10 regions</name>
   <bonus>6</bonus>
   <components>
      <territory>region 1</territory>
      <territory>region 2</territory>
      ...
      <territory>region 18</territory>
   </components>
   <required>10</required>
   <overrides>
      <override>5 regions</override>
   </overrides>
</continent>
<continent>
   <name>15 regions</name>
   <bonus>9</bonus>
   <components>
      <territory>region 1</territory>
      <territory>region 2</territory>
      ...
      <territory>region 18</territory>
   </components>
   <required>15</required>
   <overrides>
      <override>5 regions</override>
      <override>10 regions</override>
   </overrides>
</continent>


It's easier than "playing" with reinforcement tags specially because i don't think you can use a non-whole number :-k

Nobodies ;)
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class thenobodies80
 
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Location: Milan


Return to Foundry Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users